Blue Room Pottery

” All the work you see in my store is made by my two hands in my little studio in St. Paul, Minnesota. I throw my pieces on the potter’s wheel and decorate and glaze them all by myself with my own glazes. The help of my partner David Smyth with customer service and packing/shipping allows me more time to sit on my wheel and create my pieces.

My work is also my hobby, so in my Etsy store you will see the 3 distinctively different lines of work I make, my traditional family designs, my Museum / gift shop / production line, and my high end/one-of-a-kind gallery work. I like to keep my hands busy with a variety of work and experiment with different clays and glazes. This way I can produce large quantities of pieces without getting bored… and what you see in this store is only a small taste of what I make 🙂

I come from a family with a long line of potters (at least 8 generations) from the island of Sifnos, Greece and for the last 18 years I’ve been living and working in Minneapolis. I came here as a resident artist on a Fulbright-Hayes grant and taught at the University of Minnesota. Since then, I settled here and call this home.

I have been selling my work for many years through about 430 galleries in the US and numerous others all over the world. Also through many museum stores and some of the top galleries in the country, until my family convinced me to start my ETSY store here a couple of years ago, and I love it!

My work can also be seen in numerous Museums of Folk and Popular Art in Greece, along the work of my late father’s, Nikolaos Theodorou, who was my teacher and sister-soul, one of the few remaining master potters in Greece. (You can Google “Nikolaos Theodorou Pottery”, and see what I mean).” – https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/blueroompottery

Leave a Reply

